General Category > Stick and Baton Combatives

police batons

(1/3) > >>

I've noticed over the years that there have been a number of "new" styles of police batons introduced. Each purporting to be the answer to all of our needs. First the straight baton in various materials, wood, plasric, metal etc. Then the PR-24 side handle .(tonfa) Then various companies making the expandable batons. Now the latest. The Rapid rotation baton.(variation of the sai) All claim to be the latest innovations yet all are copying martial arts weapons that have been around for centuries. I am looking for opinions on the advantages/disadvantages of the different styles. Most of the Police  programs are oriented toward what I would call stand alone techniques-remove the baton/or lose it in a fight and all techniques are gone. I studied Lima Lama for a number of years recieving my black belt in 1988. We were taught empty hand techniques first and then the weapons were introduced to compliment those techniques-to increase power and distance. Lose the baton and the underlying knowledge is still there. One advantage that I have seen on the street(I have been a police officer/detective for 29 yrs)is that people tend to fear what they don't understand. So the "newest" weapons tend to get some respect until the street figures out what it is you are using and how you are using it. I don't believe we will ever find the "magic" weapon that will resolve all conflict or have bad guys trembling and begging to surrender. We are the ultimate weapon. The rest are just tools.

DetSgt Dane Nelsen   

--- Quote from: dnelsen on January 19, 2006, 03:36:15 PM ---I
 We are the ultimate weapon. The rest are just tools.

DetSgt Dane Nelsen   

--- End quote ---

Nice first post.....  Welcome to the nut house!