W. Hock Hochheim's

Combat Centric

Talk Forum for Military, Police, Martial Artists and Aware Citizenry

Hock Hochheim's Combat Talk Forum

• July 22, 2018, 01:04:21 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: new to gun self defense  (Read 2009 times)

crane2

• Forum Member
new to gun self defense
« on: April 21, 2007, 03:35:22 PM »

4/21/07
To All
I have recently begun shooting hand guns. I have very little experience.  This was only the second time I shot a gun and my first time at a range.  So- My goal is to be able to use a hand gun for self defense.  In order to practice, my boyfriend wants to buy me a gun I feel comfortable with.  So- I went gun shopping today with him.  He has been in the army (special forces) has his concealed carry and has more exposure to guns than I.  However, he hasn't taught people to shoot and so we both came away from the gun "shopping experience" with a few questions neither one of us could answer.  So-I am hoping someone with more knowledge than either of us could help me out.  I would gratly appreciate it.
 Here goes:
We went to a gun store that also has a range which was a great experience.

-I shot a 45 Smith and Wesson 1911 but the recoil was too great for me to really control it well.  Next I went to a 380 Baretta-I could hit the target pretty well at fairly close range.  Still some recoil but much more accurate.  One salesman stated that most people start out with a 22 since there is little recoil.  He said using the 22 would train in better habits such as not anticipating the recoil.  Ok, I said but can I use it effectively for self defense.  Will it stop someone?  One saleman said , Yes.  One said, not likely.  I would like to know if it has enough "stopping power" and/or will the 22 be the place to start so as not to develop bad habits such as anticipation and bracing against the recoil.