Combat Centric

Talk Forum for Military, Police, Martial Artists and Aware Citizenry

Hock Hochheim's Combat Talk Forum

• January 23, 2018, 05:39:32 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: JKD?.... Discuss  (Read 25081 times)

whitewolf

• Level 4
Re: JKD?.... Discuss
« Reply #30 on: July 01, 2011, 08:14:54 AM »

I am not a expert in JKD but i would imagine that if he was still around he would have experimented with what is going on these days   in various arts and he would have  started blending in aspects from them into JKD-as most all arts these days are changing with the times. He might even gotten into close quarter combat movements.
We will never know will we..........WW

Kentbob

• JOAT
  • Level 4
  • Sound the horn and call the cry
    • Antrim Self-Protection
« Reply #31 on: July 01, 2011, 09:01:13 AM »

I think when thinking about what JKD would be like today if Bruce were still around, it's important to remember that Bruce Lee could make darn near any technique successful.  Not that I think he would have added a lot of outlandish and esoteric techniques, but things would still be different.  For example, while he was around he made the straight lead one of the basic elements of hand techniques in JKD, and as Keith has pointed out, the straight lead is probably one of the harder punches to do correctly.  After reading Tim Tackett's two Chinatown JKD books, I believe that JKD has been distilled into a series of drills for effectively teaching the techniques that are most prevalent in JKD, which I see as the straight lead, the shuffle kick, and the eye gouge or eye attack.  Modern practitioners have already added knees and elbows, and headbutts (vunak) to this basic mix, as well as a few kicks. 

The more interesting question is what would Bruce's personal style look like today?

What I really want to know is if he would have competed in UFC 1.

Kent